Skip to main content

State Testing Information

State Testing Information

state testing


A Complete Assessment System

With new state standards, students are working harder, thinking more critically, and applying their learning to the real world. To measure these new standards, educators using Smarter tests have worked together to develop new, high-quality tests in English and math for grades 3–8 and high school, as well as for Science in grades 5, 8 and 11. 

CA. Alternative Assessments (CAA)

The California Alternate Assessments (CAAs) for English language arts/literacy (ELA), mathematics, and science are part of the California Assessment of Student Performance and Progress system. The goals of the CAAs are to ensure that students with the most significant cognitive disabilities achieve increasingly higher academic outcomes and leave high school ready for postsecondary options. The CAAs for ELA and mathematics are aligned with alternate achievement standards—called the Core Content Connectors (CCCs)—and linked to the Common Core State Standards (CCSS).

Eligible Students

Only eligible students may participate in the administration of the CAA. Any student identified for alternate testing takes the alternate versions of all tests. Individualized education program (IEP) teams “shall determine when a child with a significant cognitive disability shall participate in an alternate assessment aligned with the alternate academic achievement standards.” (Title 1, Part A, Subpart 1, Sec. 1111(b)(2)(D)(ii)(I)—Every Student Succeeds Act, 2015)


Student Score Reports can now be accessed electronically through the parent portal on our student information system Aeries.

IF you would like a paper copy of your child’s score report please stop by the MUSD District Office anytime or your child’s school site after the first day of school in August.

Understanding Your Child's Score Report

Understanding the CAASPP Individual Student Score Report



The California School Dashboard (Dashboard) is an online tool that shows how local educational agencies (LEAs) and schools are performing on the state and local indicators included in California's school accountability system. The Dashboard is a key part of major shifts in California K-12 schools, changes that have raised the bar for student learning, transformed testing, and placed the focus on equity for all students. The Dashboard provides information that schools can use to improve. 

Click here to see MUSD on the California Dashboard



Additional State Testing

Physical Fitness Test (PFT)

PFT assesses the physical fitness of students in grades 5, 7, and 9 in the following areas: aerobic capacity, body composition, upper body strength, abdominal strength, trunk strength, and flexibility. Students are scored as “within the Healthy Fitness Zone,” “Needs Improvement - Some Risk,” or "Needs Improvement - Health Risk." To pass the PFT, students must have 5 of 6 fitness standards “within” the Healthy Fitness Zone. For 9th graders, who do not meet 5 of the 6 fitness areas, they must enroll in a Physical Education (PE) class in 10th grade. They will not be eligible for Independent Study PE.

English Language Proficiency Assessments for California (ELPAC)

State and federal law requires that local educational agencies administer a state test of English language proficiency (ELP) to eligible students in kindergarten through grade twelve. The California Department of Education (CDE) has transitioned from the California English Language Development Test (CELDT) to the ELPAC as the state ELP assessment in 2017-18. The ELPAC is aligned with the 2012 California English Language Development Standards. There are two separate ELP assessments: one for the initial identification of students as English learners (ELs), and a second for the annual summative assessment to measure a student’s progress in learning English and to identify the student's level of ELP. In the 2017-18 school year, students identified as English Learners took the Summative ELPAC, and new students with a primary language other than English and who have not yet been identified as English Learners took the Initial CELDT. Beginning in the 2018-19 school year, new students will take the Initial ELPAC, and English Learners will take the Summative ELPAC. Parents and students are welcome to review the ELPAC Practice Tests.